Climate Neutral Data Centre Pact Welcomes 12 New Signatories in 1st Month

Feb 25, 2021 | News

Six members elected to Board

Brussels, 25 February 2021 – Today, the Climate Neutral Data Centre Pact (the Pact), a Self Regulatory Initiative to make data centres in Europe climate neutral by 2030 added 12 new members, including Microsoft, Host in Ireland and Iron Mountain. Existing members yesterday (24th February) voted for six of signatories to constitute the Pact’s Board.

The Pact, which only launched last month is expanding rapidly – receiving over 40 new expressions of interest to join. It now includes 34 companies and 20 associations committed to ensuring the design and operation of data centres across Europe meet ambitious sustainability criteria.

“It’s clear that data centre operators and cloud providers are committed to sustainability and working together to make data centres in Europe climate neutral,” said Pact co-founder, Chairman of CISPE (Cloud Infrastructure Services Providers in Europe) and VP Strategic Dev. & Public Affairs of OVHcloud, Alban Schmutz. “We are pleased to welcome these new signatories and invite others to join us in our rapid growth.”

The Pact allows us to work together to demonstrate to the European Union, our customers and the world that data centres can enable a climate neutral digital future,“ added Apostolos Kakkos, co-founder of the Pact, Chairman of EUDCA (European Data Centre Association), and Chairman & CEO of Lambda Hellis. “We welcome these new signatories and expect that we will continue to grow as more data centre operators recognise the importance of sustainability in their designs and operations.”

The Climate Neutral Data Centre Pact establishes a Self Regulatory Initiative which has been developed in co-operation with the European Commission. It supports both the European Green Deal, which aims to make Europe the world’s first climate neutral continent by 2050, and the European Data Strategy by making EU data centres climate neutral by 2030. Details of the Pact and the Self Regulatory Initiative cabe be found here.

The new board, established by a vote of all existing signatories, is composed of Alban Schmutz (OVHcloud, representing CISPE), Michael Winterson (Equinix, representing EUDCA), Lex Coors (Interxion), Fabrizio Garrone (Aruba), Stijn Groves (Dutch Data Center Association), Emma Fryer (TechUK).

For more details on the new Climate Neutral Data Centre Pact, please visit

Notes to Editors

New signatories – Cloud providers and operators of data centres New signatories – Associations

• Conapto
• Datavita
• EdgeConneX
• Euclyde • Green Mountain
• Iron Mountain
• Microsoft
• Simplex
• German Data Centers
• Host in Ireland

Press contact
Simona Romeo
Senior Communications Advisor, CISPE
+32 492 24 98 68

Never miss a post!

Subscribe to our newsletter below

We don’t spam! We keep your data private and share your data only with third parties that make this service possible. Read more in our Privacy Policy